RMIT Happiness Charity Drive: Monday 15 Dec – Friday 19 Dec

(The following has been prepared by RMIT University (Titanium Sponsor of AusCham))

 

Dear colleagues,

Christmas is a time for giving of gifts to our loved ones. It is also a time to give to those less fortunate. This is the spirit that the RMIT Happiness Charity drive was founded. Our campus has built a network for these activities this year which has spread to almost all the departments.

Last year we collected 14 million VND, clothes, toys, DVD’s and there was even one very generous donation of a motorbike for our three beneficiaries! We want to do better this year!

This year we are continuing to support the same beneficiaries. They are:

Senior Ladies Home – Lam Quang Pagoda: This pagoda is home for 130+ senior women aged 65 to 90. These women do not have children or families to care for them.

(Visit the site: http://vov.vn/xa-hoi/chua-lam-quang-to-am-cua-nhung-cu-gia-neo-don-227706.vov – Vietnamese only, sorry)

Little Rose Shelter for Girls: The Little Rose Shelter is a refuge that provides shelter, care, education, and assistance for young girls who are at high-risk for, or are survivors of, sexual abuse or trafficking in Vietnam. They are a non-profit organization dedicated to building a network of local collaborators in preventing school drop-outs, child labor exploitation, drug addiction, HIV/AIDS, sexual abuse and human trafficking.

(Visit the site: http://littleroseshelter.weebly.com/)

Long Hoa Orphanage for Boys: The Long Hoa Boys Orphanage is a non-profit organization established in 1995, to care for orphans around Ho Chi Minh City and Vietnam. With a humble start with 30 boys, it gave new opportunities for the children, whose future had been filled with uncertainty. Today, it has grown to house more than 100 boys between 4 to 20 years old.
(Visit the site:http://www.donateforchildren.org/Home/RecentActivity3A/tabid/87/Default.aspx)

Please visit the sites below reported what we did last year:
https://online.rmit.edu.vn/first-annual-rmit-happiness-drive
https://www.facebook.com/caro.nguyen/media_set?set=a.10152117465625520.1073741831.726790519&type=1&pnref=story)

What to Give:

For the senior ladies: Please donate money as we are going to purchase food for them. Did you know that they have a daily food budget of 5,000vnd/person. Also, if you have Vietnamese DVDs or CDs they could use them too…for entertainment!

For the orphanages: Please give books, toys and clothes. Please separate them into girl’s or boy’s toys and clothes.

When to Give:

We will be collecting for one week from Monday 15 December until Friday 19 December.

Where (who) to Give:

You can drop off your toys and clothes, DVDs or CDs at the Reception Desk in Academic Building 2 in D7

If you would like to make a monetary donation, please contact any of these individuals.

Centre of Commerce and Management

Caroline Nguyen (caroline.nguyen@rmit.edu.vn)

Nhan Nguyen (nhan.nguyen@rmit.edu.vn)

Centre of Communication and Design

Heather Swenddal (heather.swenddal@rmit.edu.vn)

Jason Costa (jason.costa@rmit.edu.vn)

Karen Adam (karen.adam@rmit.edu.vn)

Office of the President (S&OD)

Huyen Cao (huyen.cao@rmit.edu.vn)

Office of the Vice President

Tuan Tran (tuan.tran@rmit.edu.vn)

Operations and Planning (Property)

Pha Ho (pha.ho@rmit.edu.vn)

Student Services

Jacqueline Langton (jacqueline.langton@rmit.edu.vn)

Phoenix Ho (phoenix.ho@rmit.edu.vn)

Come along to visit the beneficiaries:

We will be going to visit each of the beneficiaries between 20-23 December. If you would like to come please register here: http://goo.gl/forms/MB8xsUYDa5 and we will send you details.

Thank you and Happy Holidays!